The School Board January 9, 2024

.......... heard Board president Dacey Davis recite the Elkhart Promise.

...... approved the following items under a consent approval:

Minutes – December 19, 2023 – Regular Board Meeting Minutes – December 27, 2023 – Special Board Meeting

Claims in the amount of \$15,964,391.10.

Proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy.

Accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS): \$500 from Shield Restraint Systems in support of the Elklogics Robotics extracurricular activities including the purchase of equipment, supplies, registrations, and transportation for students.

Conference Leave Requests

Submission of the following grant: Indiana Youth Institute Professional Development Grant hosted by Indiana Youth Institute in the amount of \$750 which would fund the conference registration for Allison Makowski to attend a trauma responsive conference for education.

## Personnel Report:

Employment of the following five (5) certified staff: Audrey Blodgett, Language Arts at North Side; Nicolaas DeJong, Special Education at North Side; Joseph Iavagnilio, Mathematics at Freshman Division; Lauren Morales, Art at West Side; and Julia Ramirez, Grade 6 at Osolo.

Resignation of the following three (3) certified staff: Thomas Guthrie, Science at Pierre Moran; Tina McConnell, Special Education at Beardsley; and Patrick Smith, Grade 6 at Bristol.

Extension of leave for the following one (1) certified staff: Dodie Norris, District Instructional Math at Osolo.

Employment of the following one (1) classified employee: Kirsten Vance, Custodian at Osolo.

Unpaid leave for the following one (1) classified employee: Melissa Coffman, Bus Driver at Transportation.

Retirement of the following one (1) classified employee: Robert Myers, Custodian at Elkhart High.

Resignation of the following six (6) classified employees: Hannah Diver, Food Service at Bristol; Cheryl Gibson, Food Service at Roosevelt; Jesse Hollis, Promotions Manager at

WVPE; Lisa G. Jones, Board Certified Behavior Analyst at PACE; Bryanna Schug, Paraprofessional at HELC; and Elizabeth Willis, Food Service at Elkhart High.

Employment of the following three (3) classified employees: Angela James, Food Service at Osolo; Lisa M. Jones, Paraprofessional at HELC; and Ryan Prebys, Assistant Color Guard Director at Elkhart High.

 adopted a resolution for Transfer of Appropriations.
 approved a motion to issue Notice of Preliminary Consideration of Non-Renewal.
 heard proposed revisions to Administrative Regulation GDBA-10 – Miscellaneous Positions Pay Schedule for initial review and waived second reading.
 heard Dr. Bruce Stahly, Assistant Superintendent of Instruction, announce the new district-wide elementary reading initiative, "Elkhart Builds Readers, Dreamers, and Inspiring Leaders." Dr. Stahly thanked Board Member Anne VonDerVellen for bringing the idea to the administration and Barb Cripe, Director of Elementary Instruction, for suggesting the book for the theme. Grants were written and awarded in the amount of \$15,000 from the Elkhart Community Foundation and \$5,000 from the Elkhart Education Foundation in support of the initiative. Each elementary school will have contests organized by the assistant principals. Banners will be outside each elementary building promoting the program which will begin in February and run through the end of March. Each school will be provided three (\$3) dollars per student to be used for rewards for classrooms/students.
Mrs. VonDerVellen expressed her excitement for the reading initiative as reading is fundamental and foundational to student success: ECSs' need to get kids reading again! Mrs. VonDerVellen also mentioned the Imagination Library initiative and the importance of getting books into the hands of kids at a young age.
Board Member Kellie Mullins encouraged the administration to market the reading initiative at each elementary building in order to make the Elkhart community aware of the great things happening in our schools.
 heard Superintendent Mark Mow remind Board Members their next regularly scheduled Board meeting will be on January 23, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
 heard Ms. Davis encourage ECS staff to take the time to read the email and listen to the video sent from the new Superintendent, Dr. Larry Huff.
 heard Board member Doug Weaver thank Ms. Davis for serving as President of the Board of School Trustees for the past two (2) years.